Every Day Will I Bless Thee

Every Day Will I Bless Thee


In stock

From the website of SVS Press:

In the summer of 1962, eight students from a seminary in Crestwood, New York, traveled around the US singing the sacred music of the Orthodox
faith. Led by a young seminarian named David Drillock, the St. Vladimir’s Seminary Octet visited nearly 100 churches. Over the years, the members of the ensemble changed, but its legacy has been lasting. Through countless trips, concerts, services, and recordings, the Octet forever transformed the landscape of Orthodox music in America—setting the standard for church singing in English.

In the intervening years, St. Vladimir’s produced recordings of both men’s and combined men’s and women’s voices. However, the seminary has never released a recording of all-women’s voices. Women have always been pillars of the faculty, staff, and student body of St. Vladimir’s, and women students and seminarians’ wives often go on to become leaders in church music. So in many ways, an all-women’s recording has been a long time coming. We hope Every Day Will I Bless Theecontinues the venerable musical legacy of the Octet, while at the same time breaking new ground for the seminary and the Church.

The music on this recording reflects the pan-Orthodox spirit of the seminary. Our seminarians hail from all corners of the globe, speak different languages, and belong to different Orthodox churches and jurisdictions. But on this recording, as in our chapel, we sing “psalms and hymns and spiritual songs” (Eph 5:19) as one body. You’ll hear music from the Serbian tradition (The Lord Awoke), the Greek tradition (Hymn of Kassiane), and even a piece from Georgia (Paschal Troparion). We honor the Russian musical tradition with familiar settings of O Taste and See and the Exapostilarion of the Cross, while at the same time presenting more recent compositions written in English, such as the works of Father Ivan Moody, Kurt Sander, Vladimir Morosan, Monk Martin (Gardner), nazo nakkak, Richard Toensing, and Nicolas Craig Custer.

May this first recording from the St. Vladimir’s Seminary Women’s Sextet glorify God: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, and may it bless your soul also.

In stock

SKU: 9780881416220 Categories: , ,

Product Description

Director: Robin Freeman

Sextet Members: Stephanie Earl • Mary Honoré • Robin Freeman • Nun Margarete (Roeber) • Ilaria O’Keefe • Danielle Miller


1. O Gladsome Light (1:16) • Monk Martin (Gardner)

2. Exapostilarion for Annunciation (0:43) • Archpriest Paul Jannakos

3. Koinonikon for All Times (0:56) • Monk Martin (Gardner)

4. The Great Doxology (4:14) • Kurt Sander

5. Canon Ode 9 for Holy Saturday Matins (2:22) • Serbian Chant (arr. P. Drobac)

6. Exapostilarion for Pascha (1:26) • Archpriest Sergei Glagolev

7. Blessed is the Man (2:59) • Priest Ivan Moody

8. The Angel Cried (1:43) • nazo zakkak

9. Antiphon 15 for Holy Friday Matins (3:28) • Melody by Deacon Sergius Trubachov (arr. V. Morosan)

10. Let my Prayer Arise (2:55) • Byzantine Chant
Soloists: Mary Honoré, Robin Freeman, Nun Margarete (Roeber)

11. Song of St. Simeon (0:53) • Priest Sergius Halvorsen

12. Exapostilarion for the Exaltation of the Cross (1:40) • Johann von Gardner

13. Hymn of Kassiane (5:16) • Byzantine Chant (arr. S. Frøyshov, G. Abdalah)

14. Magnificat (4:16) •nazo zakkak
Soloist: Robin Freeman

15. Paschal Troparion (1:02) • Georgian Chant (arr. H. Majkrzak)

16. Rejoice, O Virgin Theotokos (1:50) • Richard Toensing
Soloist: Mary Honoré

17. Koinonikon for Holy Saturday (2:45) • Serbian Chant (arr. P. Drobac)

18. It is Truly Meet (1:03) • Monk Martin (Gardner)

19. Koinonikon for Presanctified Liturgy (1:51) • Valaam Chant (arr. J. Erickson)

20. Kontakion for the Nativity of Christ (2:20) • Byzantine Chant (arr. R. Toensing)

21. Kontakion for the Canon of St. Andrew (1:40) • Nicolas Craig Custer

22. The Lord’s Prayer (1:14) • Monk Martin (Gardner)

23. Paschal Troparion (1:09) • Vladimir Morosan

Additional Information

Weight .21 lbs